Later School Days?

img_6357

Recently in my English class, we were told to write an essay whether we are for or against school days starting later. Once I heard that question, I was immediately against it because I didn’t want to go home later in the day and not have any time for extracurricular activities. However, during the week of that assignment, there was a day when I realize, school should start later. On that day, I had CIF for tennis, and we had to leave at 10 A.M. for our match because it was in Santa Barbara. By the time I got home it was already 10 P.M. Yes, I could’ve done my homework during the car ride there, but I had no internet since almost every homework assignment is online now. Therefore, that night, I didn’t sleep until 3 A.M. only allowing me to get about four hours of sleep while the recommended hours are eight to nine. However, if school did start later, I would’ve been able to get an extra hour of sleep that could’ve helped me a lot because the following day, I had a huge headache and my body was so tired, I fell asleep in two of my classes and my body started breaking down as I was practicing for tennis. Throughout this week, I learned that there are always two sides to a story and you should be willing to listen to both sides before you make a decision or judgement.

Leave a Reply

