Dream Team

In the LA Times article, it talks about a tennis “Dream Team”, and to my surprise, I am apart of the team. I honestly did not expect this at all. I actually didn’t know they even wrote articles about a “Dream Team.” until I woke up one day and I got a notification on twitter saying I was tagged by the writer of this article. I was reading it and it is incredible how good they made me sound. Not to be ungrateful, but I know hundreds of other girls that are way better than me and deserves to be on this “Dream Team,” but I am very honored and happy to have crossed this writer’s mind, allowing him to write about me and all of the accomplishments I had last season. It’s honestly really ironic to me how people would come up to me and tell me how good I am at tennis because I actually hate tennis. When someone plays a sport, it’s because they love it. They look forward to the practices and games, but I am the opposite. I’d rather stay home and do homework. At this point in time, I have learned to tolerate tennis, but seeing this makes me really happy that the amount of hours I have practiced actually paid off to a certain extent. Also, since I will be a senior next year, it gives me a lot more confidence that I would be able to receive a scholarship to a D1 school knowing that someone believes that I am good enough. Many people always asks me, “Why do you still play tennis if you hate it?” Well, I did quit. However, something was pulling me back. I felt as if all of my hard work just went into the trashcan. All the money spent on me was such a waste, so I decided to give tennis a chance because it can help me get into college for free or at least cheaper. And it is these type of small things that keep me going with my tennis career and it keeps me calm during the time I want to just give up.

Leave a Reply

